Picture
I'm not a fan of long plane trips ("long="7 or more hours for me), but then again, who does? The tight space, that annoying crick in not one but several places in your neck, and the lack of sleep are enough to drive one crazy for so many hours. But we adapt. Or we just complain and push ourselves through. After all, these flights can be the start of a grand adventure!

To the left is what I busied myself with for a portion of the ~10 hour trip. This is called lazy creativity: I didn't want to write and stuff so I decided to play self-Bananagrams with an unlimited supply of letters. I had a lot of lazy, creative fun! And without the beautiful journal, I couldn't have done it (shoutout to the gals from Greenview!)! 

Throughout this build-up to my study abroad experience, the idea of living in Chile for six months was something I could never quite grasp. Even when I saw the beautiful mountains of Santiago coming closer as the plane descended, I only felt a very small--pequeñito is a better word--twinge of reality. Everything still felt like a vacation. When Menina, my darling of a host mother, showed me the apartment that I would be calling home for the next several months, I felt that slow, creeping reality once more. It finally hit me when I woke up the next day and looked at myself in the bathroom mirror. I would be waking up nearly every day for the next few months and looking into that same bathroom mirror. A strange time to realize out of all the other moments, yes, but it's better than going through denial for the next few months, right?

I've already seen so much here in this wonderful land of Santiago, much of which is very reminiscent of either the United States or Pakistan, two places I call home. I went with Menina; her daughter, Daniela; and Daniela's cutie-patootie son, Damian, to a huge nearby mall with a Wal-Mart-esque store that covered the entire main floor. I had an amazing tea time with Menina; her son, Juan Renee; and Juan Renee's novia, Cynthia--we talked into the late hours o' the night about topics as diverse as religion, politics, Chilenismos (Chilean slang), school, and more. I spent my first day at Campus San Joaquin, the main campus of La Catolica, and got to know Evelyn, our amazing residential coordinator; our Spanish professors; and the other gringos (I use that affectionately!) in the group! The metro was a fun and safe adventure with Menina, and I wrapped up the day with an asado (barbecue)/birthday party for Menina's son-in-law. There was a lot of family there that I was meeting for the first time, but I felt like a member of the clan. I had a great time with cousins, the in-laws, brother and sisters...AND THERE WERE BABIES AND A KITTEN AND A DOG EN TODAS PARTES (everywhere).

And yes, everything's been in Spanish. And I love it! I can already notice the progress I've been making after barely two days of living here, and I can't wait to see what the future holds. The language is beautiful, the people here are beautiful with their kind hearts, and I'm having a wonderful time!

Chau!

Catherine Bollar
1/11/2013 09:11:14 pm

What a wonderful adventure! I may have missed it on here, but is there a specific purpose for your semester in Chile?

Reply
Sanaa
1/15/2013 02:01:30 pm

Thanks for your comment! I revised my "Sobre Mi" section so that it now clarifies the purpose behind this study abroad experience. Thanks again!

Reply
Sarosh
1/11/2013 10:16:50 pm

Wonderful.......baby is eeeeee

Reply
1/12/2013 12:54:47 am

Lovely dearie. Happy to hear you're having such a good time :D

Reply
Marta Sanchez
1/12/2013 03:54:04 am

Yo quiero ir a Chile pero yo es muy pobre. ¡QUE LASTIMA!

Reply
Anna Beth
1/13/2013 08:39:15 am

SO COOL! I'm glad you're having a great time so far, and I love that you have a section of your blog devoted to things that make you squee! lol

Reply
Sarwat
1/13/2013 11:09:35 am

Yay! so excited for you and so happy that you have settled in so well. Take lots of care sweetheart and keep your great blog coming. Love from Khala.

Reply
Doris Poole
1/15/2013 07:07:49 am

Me alegra mucho que estés pasándola bien. Cuando leí tu blog me acordó mucho cuando llegué a los Estados Unidos por primera vez y viví con mis host families. Para ser exactos tres diferentes familias una en cada estado en el que viví. Aprendes mucho de elos. Aprendes a conocer la cultura a traves de las experiencias que vives con la familia. esta va a ser la oportinidad de tu vida y va a cambiar el rumbo de tu vida. Sigue poniendo notas en tu blog y estoy aquí para lo que necsites. Me alegra que Hira esté en mi clase, así podrán compartir intercambio cultural mas adelante. Un abrazo y cuídate mucho.

Reply
Nayab
2/18/2013 02:16:55 am

aww Sanaa! I'm glad you're having a good time and adjusting well! Just curious, is Chile a 3rd world ocuntry?

Also I hate long plane rides as well. My longest one was 14 hours and it was to Saudi Arabia. I had nothing to keep me entertained except The Golden Compass and The Water Horse (movies) and they were blurred on women for conservative reasons :/

Reply



Leave a Reply.